top of page
  • Coral

Unpacking Camp Climb

Do you ever get to experience something so magical, so special, so intentional and intimate that you struggle to put it into words?


Me too.


But as a natural born story-telling writer - I'll do my best.


For those of you who were there, HELLO SISTER GODDESS QUEENS! Your energy and good vibes made this weekend unforgettable. For those of you who weren't, Camp Climb has all the deets and more about this mission and movement. If you're inspired and curious about this bomb exploration inward and outward in nature - that is the universe WINKING AT YOU. Wink back. ;)




I first learned about this camp from Mariah at Wander Design Co. after following along with her simply captivating graphic design and branding skills. She led me straight to the source of Emma Hicks and all things Camp Climb. I went back and forth and back and forth on registering for the weekend. I knew from the tugging in my soul and the constant refreshing of the Camp Climb home page that I just HAD to be there, but I also knew I had a lot of realistic and practical shit to take care of at home.


I decided I'll go to camp, I'll soak it in and let it soar. And I am so glad I did because, baby, I'm gonna soar.





Some eye-opening affirmations and mic-dropping truth bombs were laid out on that stage. The grit and the grace and the struggle and the faith were all poured out for those of us in the audience to absorb. The beauty is, in that intimate safe space, it didn't all feel so far away. It felt like it was already here. Right at my fingertips; already working it's way through my heart and soul.



Base Camp (or SUPER BASE as I like to call it) was full of bright minds, sweet souls and passionate dreamers working to build their best life. Work-life balance, giving back, exploring new endeavors, starting from scratch or finally making that leap were in the hearts of those huddled around the campfire. The camp was a flame and these women held the matches.



Nestled in a wooded area in New Liberty, this Girl Scout meets Parent Trap camp provides trails, water activities and plenty of space to wander. The main cabin houses room for events and speaking engagements. The cutest pop-up shop with goods from A Well Worn Story and other mini-market vendors made it their home for the weekend. Including the actual fuel pumping through all of us from Lynne and her delicious Barnstorm Coffee cart. It's only 2.5 hours east of Des Moines and a great spot for disconnecting in order to reconnect.



My major takeaways from this experience had to be from my fellow campers themselves. They are not only moving mountains - they are shaking them. Stirring up something within their soul to set it on fire and share it with others. These are the women taking note of the universe's winking eye and not only saying I SEE YOU, but I SEE YOU and I HUMBLY ACCEPT.



I was blown away by the kind words, encouragement, support and overall CORAL - DO YOU AND DO MORE vibe I got from camp. These women made me feel seen and heard and capable in a way that I sometimes lose sight of. All of my dreams seemed extra possible and not at all limited. You're funny - do stand up, start a YouTube channel, do speaking gigs. You sing? Start playing more, do open mic nights, start scheduling gigs. You write? Get back on that blog, write a book, create jingles. Life may be a highway, but it doesn't have to be just one lane.




I felt so IN MY ELEMENT so much of the weekend. Especially at the pool party. Coming from a pale, ginger who's always felt and/or been bigger, the pool isn't always a place where my confidence shined brightly. This weekend, though, I brought the confidence and the light and the White Claws. (Well, I drank them at least.) I could feel the positive energy around me and the overall lightness of being care-free and comfortable in the water. I could hear the place overflowing with laughter and sense the ease of others freely being in such an uplifting space. It was an absolutely sensational feeling.


I've got a lot of work to do. I've got a lot to figure out. But the kicker is - that will probably, and hopefully, never stop. I believe in discipline and consistency and perseverance, even though these are areas I struggle in. I also believe in letting things come to you with ease and accepting them upon arrival with deep gratitude. I believe that you can have it because you already do. I believe the tools to live your best life are already within you.


I believe that there will always be mountains, but it truly is about the CLIMB.



bottom of page