top of page
  • Coral

Caught Up in Copenhagen


This not-so-little city had me mesmerized from the get go; stunningly colorful exteriors, a peaceful harbor and a keen sense of style. It was such a lively and vibrant city. So many bicycles and baskets and patios filled with folks drinking wine and smoking cigarettes by the water. The weather was great, not too cold, not to hot - all you needed was a light jacket. April 25th, am I right?!


The people were all so freaking gorgeous and fancy, yet approachable. Their styles ranged from 90’s to Louis V to Instagram Influencer. It was a collection of bright blonde hair and smooth faces and tan clothes. I found that the people were friendly and helpful (per usual) and that I totally and completely am lost when it comes to interpreting the Danish language.


I was able to catch on to the public transportation system - The Metro - pretty quickly (granted I only took 1 route, and 1 route only) but it was super convenient and very user friendly. I got to stroll through a beautiful park filled with lots of history and freshly bloomed Cherry Blossom trees. I was able to sit in a cafe and work like a local or traveling businesswoman and I even got to spend the day at an amusement park where I almost hurled my guts out after one too many spins on a new rolly ride. It was stellar.


There were roller coasters and peacocks and sailboats and Irish coffee and avocados and scrunchies bought at the supermarket. There was lots of reading and watching Friends while making brunch and having dinner with a real life family. I got to see the Queen's boat and ride along in a canal tour on the water. I found an adorable little store where the lady was super helpful with getting me sizes and had a great dinner at a women-empowering cafe as the sunset.


It was especially great for me because I had my very own tour guide/reason for coming to the city! My friend, Randi, was a foreign exchange student at our high school 11 years ago. We were very close during that year and have stayed in touch ever since. When I finally booked my ticket to Europe, I knew we would FINALLY be able to reunite in her homeland of Denmark. It was so sweet to have a recognizable face in a foreign city and she was gracious enough to host me during my time there. #BLESSED


My favorite part was just being able to sit along the water and enjoy the views. Staring across the sea at the brightly painted buildings was surely a sight to see. The sailboats were captivating - just waiting to be set sail in the open waters. I realized then and there that a part of my heart had a calling to set sail on on those open waters myself. Anywhere there’s water, I feel calm and relaxed. At peace with the world and content with life. It’s refreshing and tranquil and life affirming. G bless water - in all it’s glorious forms.


Here are some stellar shots from my week in Copenhagen; from a beer garden to cafes to the harbor and a sunset over the sailboats. I will surely see this beautiful city (and beautiful friend) again!


bottom of page