top of page
  • Coral

My Top 10 Moments in Rome

Rome wasn’t built in a day, but I sure got to explore it in one! In less than 24 hours, I saw a pethra of intricately detailed fountains, streets full of quaint cafes and massive historic buildings galore. I also indulged in a fair share of pasta and pizza. When in Rome! Here’s a look at my top 10 moments - from magical views in the streets to magnificent structures above and all the gelato in between.



AKA Gallo Matto. This restaurant was boooomb. I was totally digging the vibe. There were twinkling lights and random decor from the floor to the ceiling and a live piano man actually playing ‘Piano Man’. It was a unique atmosphere with a New Orleans meets Chuy’s sort of aesthetic. They served something dripped in oil before the meal. Honestly, I have no clue what it was. It sort of looked like a slice of giant mushroom? I looked around at the other tables and it was gone off their plates. I took a nibble and that was enough. The ravioli was literally the best most scrumptious dollop of cheese and noodle combo I’ve ever tasted. The watier talked me into the special and thank the Lord he did. Totally worth the $3 upgrade for that saucy goodness. Highly recommend this joint to fill all your Italian pasta cravings.




When you know, you know. And that’s how I felt about the Gelato place right up the street from the best ravioli joint. Gelateria S.M. Maggiore had it all. It. Was. Delectable. Nocciola (hazelnut), pistachio and tiramisu were my chosen flavors. Topped with fresh cream and some sort of wafer treat. I could’ve eaten 2 buckets. Plus, the service was spectacular. I tried a couple of other places, but they just didn’t quite compare to the little gelato shop on the corner.



Cafe, Rosé and Pasta All Day

Okay, so I didn’t really have any rosé while I was there - but next time, I’ll be drinking it by the gallon. There were so many street cafes and I literally swooned over each and every single one of them with their patio chairs and tiny cups and smoking patrons. It was like a scene from a movie. I could have a cup of Roman-cino every day. Coffee is everywhere and the precious pastries were absolutely delectable.



P.S. The Caffe Mauro deli shop was the CUTEST and the owner was super sweet. Plus, the sandwiches were so freaking good! AND coffee + desserts to go - all for only 16 Euros!




P.P.S. Casa Maria Caffe. The last meal was certainly a plate (or two) full. Had a delicious helping of fettuccine pasta featuring a ginormous calzone. [Insert Ben from Parks & Rec calzone meme here]. The staff was super friendly, met a sweet mom & daughter duo from Texas/Oklahoma and found out our waitresses boyfriend was from Kansas. I told her to tell him that Iowa says hi. Had there been any room for dessert, I’m sure it would've been delectable.




I am such a water baby. (Coral, am I right). I will seriously stop at anything that has flowing water. There are over 2,000 fountains in Rome. WHAT? And these aren’t just tiny sculptures with tiny trickling streams. These are massive, intricately detailed designs that symbolize all sorts of stories and historic significance with powerful H2Flow spewing out of it. It’s truly a magical site to see. My favorite fountain view was in a plaza with a magician guy blowing bubbles and all sorts of people enjoying the sunny day. I could sit in front of a fountain all day (and I did). A fountain allows you to pause and stop in time while it continues to keep flowing. It’s a truly radical feeling.







Terraces and Vines

I spent a lot of the 12 hours walking around with my head toward the clouds. All the huge buildings and towering terraces were a dream. The vines crawling up the brick exteriors, the balconies covered with flowers, the shutters wide open and clothes hanging on the line. It’s amazing to think that this is someone’s everyday life. I watched an older lady walk out onto her terrace to water the plants and she seemed so content. And also completely normal. It was surreal. Like the 4th wall had been broken over the buzzing traffic and bustling crowds. Rome may feel like a dream, but it’s real life. And for some people it’s their everyday real life. Now, THAT is a dream.




I recommend seeing the colosseum at the start and end of the day. The morning light captures it in its entirety and the evening glow is captivating. It’s a mesmerizing structure that brings you back 2,000 years. The work that went into something so massive so many years ago is mindblowing. Like, how. It’s crazy to think that it has held up all this time and that it is still used for entertainment to this day. It’s a super neat thing to experience firsthand.






Churches, Universities, Literally Every Building

Stumbling into hidden treasures is an all time favorite pastime of mine. There was this medium on the outside/massive on the inside church that was absolutely gorgeous. It was under construction, but the rich detail was enchanting. There were stairs that led into a tomb for what I’m assuming was a priest. The ceiling was painted with strokes of genius and pews creaked with purpose that rung throughout the hall.There were also several universities, each one with it’s own unique towering entryways and detailed structures. You wouldn’t presume it was a university until you read the huge letters ingrained into the top.





I really didn’t know what to expect of this particular spot. It’s a special, sacred place that looks like a scene out of Hercules. The towering pillars hold up gods and goddess looking sculptures in a half circle surrounding the plaza. The fountains were small amidst the mighty backdrop of the powerful steeple. It’s hard to capture it in its entirety; both in person and on camera. Pillar by pillar it beams brightly, glowing white under the bright sun. It was a cool moment and the Pope would be there the following day to do something really important, I’m sure.





Rivers & Bridges

Again, where there’s water, there’s me. I crossed the street and looked out over the flowing waters. It was a beautiful, sunny day and the old brick bridge was full of people, lock clusters here and there and a terrific guitarist. I watched an old man looking out over the water and thought it was just the sweetest thing. Being on the bridge over troubled or tragic or wonderful waters, rather than under it, is simply refreshing.



The People

Oh, the people. I encountered some sweet souls in my short time in Rome. The kind and helpful hotelier full of information. The sweet guy who overheard my attempt to get Italian coins from a barista for the parking meter, giving me 2 of his own Euros. The glowing gelato lady who remembered me when I came back for a second time because if it ain’t broke don’t fix it and I wanted to have fulfillment of that delicious flavor before I left town. The welcoming deli guy and his adorable sandwich shop.



BONUS: Serving up an extra slice of PISA for this post. This little town (jk I have no idea what the population is but I’m assuming it’s smaller than Rome) was an absolute treat. The brightly colored homes and enchanting views and of course, the Leaning Tower of Pisa. I had no idea there were two other immaculate structures alongside it in the plaza. One looked like something straight out of Game of Thrones (not that I’d truly know having never watched an episode, but I’ve seen gifs). The tower was crazy - just leaning there and whatnot with people walking around on top. There were some fabulous looking entrees outside the sidewalk cafes and lots of unique storefronts and gift shops. Not only would I go back to Rome in a heartbeat (and maybe next week) but Pisa is definitely worth a return trip as well.








Until next time, y'all.. Ciao!

bottom of page