top of page
  • Dreamer/Gypsy/Life Shit

Trapped Dreamer

Do you ever get exhausted and overwhelmed with your own dreams, desires, ambitions?

Do you know that the world is your oyster? All of it?

Does this scare the living shit out of you?

Me. Too.

For most of my life, I don't remember anyone ever telling me 'no'. And not in a spoiled brat sort of way, because I can assure I never got a pony or a real life Power Ranger or became the next Tara Lipinksi.

But when it came to school and sports and general life shit, I just did it. And I either had the support or a confused version of support from family, friends and strangers I'd tell my life adventures to.

And while knowing the world is my oyster and I've got the world at my feet and the world is a firefly and I'm the mason jar [wait, what?], is an amazing thing, it scares the living daylight out of me. THE LIVING DAYLIGHT PEOPLE.

I, a young, educated, single, childless, 25.5 year old, am overflowing with the possibilites of life.

I could get a work visa and go to Australia for six months.

I could sell everything and move to Chile.

I could move back home to Iowa.

I could move to North Carolina or D.C. or Boston or Vegas or Jamaica.

I could open up a coffee shop, start a podcast, make a documentary, become a motivational speaker, travel the world, become a comedian or build a tiny home.

[That last one is in the works. For reals. 19 days and counting!!!!]

So, then, what do I do? WHAT DO I DO?!

Where do I begin? What's a dreaming gypsy to do in this world of routine and settling and fear?

How do I make these dreams a reality? How do I have so many of them?

On the one hand I am fortunate to have lived a life that did not limit or deminish my spirit and aspirations. On the other hand, it would've been really cool if my parents just made me play doctor when I was little and then made me go to doctor school and then get a doctor degree and then a doctor job and then a doctor's pay and then WA-LAH. Life complete.

But alas, my ever flapping wings and constant daydreams have led me to a life of wander(lost) and lust. And my travels and stories and all the WTF moments inbetween, have led me here. And there's no worse feeling than a free bird feeling trapped.

In the meantime, I will grit my teeth and get through the next six months as I complete this endeavor with open eyes and an open heart ready for the next one! And, just like everything that has ever happened ever, my time will eventually come. Just like my period. (I was a late bloomer when it came to my period. My boobs on the other hand...well, that's a different story).

Here's to you dreamers, doers, thinkers, believers, creators and anyone else who resinates with words. No matter what way the wind blows, remember, YOU'VE GOT WINGS. <3

bottom of page